top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

Prioritize Praise

Daily Reading // Nehemiah 10-13


(Find the daily reading on Pastor Jim’s Blog)

https://jholm5.wixsite.com/pastor-jim-blog


S // SCRIPTURE

Select a verse from today’s reading

Nehemiah 12:31 (NKJV) So I brought the leaders of Judah up on the wall, and appointed two large thanksgiving choirs. [One] went to the right hand on the wall toward the Refuse Gate.

O // OBSERVATION

Why did this verse get your attention? Make a simple observation from the text


I think it’s interesting that an important part of restoring Jerusalem was restoring Thanksgiving, celebration and worship. It wasn’t just masonry work that was needed but also establishing a foundation of praise.


If one choir is good then two choirs are better! Nehemiah appointed two Thanksgiving choirs to loudly worship on this day. We are told in verse 43 “the joy of Jerusalem was heard afar off.”


Worship and joy are not byproducts of community. They are essential building blocks in its development.


A // APPLICATION

How can I apply this to my life today?


Do I prioritize worship in its proper place? What role does worship, praise, celebration, thanksgiving and joy have in my life? I think for many it’s something you just hope shows up once in a while, like the neighbor’s cat. If it doesn’t, oh well. There’s nothing I can do about it.


Nehemiah himself, the governor and leader of building the walls, prioritized worship and appointed these choirs. He took it into his own hands. He made it happen.


Make it happen. Prioritize praise.


P // PRAYER

Express yourself in prayer


Heavenly Father, I lift Your Name in praise today. You are worthy of worship and adoration. You gave me breath and the power of speech to sing Your praises. Amen.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page