top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

Rain Down!

Daily Reading // Isaiah 51-55


(Find the daily reading on Pastor Jim’s Blog)

https://jholm5.wixsite.com/pastor-jim-blog


S // SCRIPTURE

Select a verse from today’s reading

Isaiah 55:10-11 (NKJV) 10 “For as the rain comes down, and the snow from heaven, And do not return there, But water the earth, And make it bring forth and bud, That it may give seed to the sower And bread to the eater, 11 So shall My word be that goes forth from My mouth; It shall not return to Me void, But it shall accomplish what I please, And it shall prosper in the thing for which I sent it.”

O // OBSERVATION

Why did this verse get your attention? Make a simple observation from the text


God’s Word will prosper in the thing for which He sent it. That is a promise of the effectual power of the Bible.


Notice there are direct benefits as well as indirect benefits.

The rain comes and waters the earth that it may bring forth and Bud. That is a direct benefit.


Then that which comes forth from the ground provides seed for future harvests. It is also harvested, processed and baked to make bread. That’s another secondary benefit.


It can do a lot of things. But the one thing it can’t do is return void. It cannot fail in its life-giving benefits.


A // APPLICATION

How can I apply this to my life today?


This picture made me think of the incredible benefits, direct and indirect, of God’s Word if I allow it in my life.


The direct benefits are: wisdom, counsel, peace and direction. The indirect benefits are too numerous to name: marriage life, family life, work life, purpose, relationships, ministry effectiveness, etc.


It’s not just about getting the word in my life but also about replanting the seeds and making the bread. It has the power to do this and much more if I take the time to apply and practice what it says. That’s where the nourishment comes from.

There would be no bread if there were no rain, but there are a few steps in between.


P // PRAYER

Express yourself in prayer


Gracious Heavenly Father, Thank You for Your life-giving Word. I would die of spiritual malnutrition without it. May Your Word accomplish its full purpose in me. Amen.

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page