top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

Real Refreshment

Daily Reading // 1 Corinthians 16:13-24


READY // SILENCIO

Take a moment to quiet your mind and prepare your heart for your time with the Lord.


READ // LECTIO

Read the passage above up to three times aloud. Allow yourself to feel the words as they are read.


REFLECT // MEDITATIO

Now direct your focus on the words, phrases concepts or sentences that got your attention. What is God speaking to you today through His word?

1 Corinthians 16:17-18 (NKJV) 17 I am glad about the coming of Stephanas, Fortunatus, and Achaicus, for what was lacking on your part they supplied. 18 For they refreshed my spirit and yours. Therefore acknowledge such men.

The Apostle Paul affirmed these people because they “refreshed my spirit and yours”. I like the sound of that. They went out of their way to connect Paul with the church in Corinth. Not only did they bring information, but they also added themselves. They gave Paul reason to relax.


They were spirit refreshers.


Sometimes when I’m working outside on a hot day, mowing the lawn or doing a project, my wife will come out with some cold water. On a hot, sweaty day it’s just what I need.


Someone who refreshes spirits is like that. They are attentive. They recognize a possible need. They care about the need. Then they find a way to meet the need without even being asked. They show up at just the right time with just the right refreshment.


I bet there will be people I come in contact today that could use some refreshment of spirit. Sometimes being aware of a practical need and meeting it can also refresh someone’s spirit. Sometimes a phone call to let someone know you’re thinking about them and to ask how they’re doing can refresh a spirit. Or maybe sitting with someone over coffee, giving word of encouragement, giving them a hand where needed.

I like this verse from Proverbs:

Proverbs 11:25 (NKJV) The generous soul will be made rich, And he who waters will also be watered himself.

Here it is in the New International version:

Proverbs 11:25 (NIV) A generous person will prosper; whoever refreshes others will be refreshed.

Refresh and be refreshed!


RESPOND // ORATIO

Pray in response to what the Lord has spoken to you.


Holy Spirit, Give me eyes to see where I can be a refreshment to others. Also, give me the creativity and boldness to step out and minister that refreshing. Amen.


Tomorrow’s reading -> 2 Corinthians 1:1-7

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page