top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

Responding To God

“But they and our fathers acted proudly, Hardened their necks, And did not heed Your commandments.”

‭‭Nehemiah‬ ‭9‬:‭16‬ ‭NKJV‬‬


My parents owned horses. We loved to ride them in our pasture. The horses that were the most enjoyable to ride were responsive to the rider. When you pulled the reins to the right, the horse went to the right. When the reins were pulled to the left, the horse went left.


We had a couple horses that were stubborn. They didn’t want to respond to the rider. When you pulled the reins to the right or left, instead of going that way, the horse would stiffen its neck. It fought against direction.


That’s the picture I have in my mind when this passage says they hardened their neck. God gives plenty of instruction. Do I respond or do I harden my neck against His commands?


Father, speak to me today. Guide me. I will not stiffen my neck against Your leading. Amen.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page