top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

Rest in My Spirit

Daily Reading // 2 Corinthians 2:12-17


READY // SILENCIO

Take a moment to quiet your mind and prepare your heart for your time with the Lord.


READ // LECTIO

Read the passage above up to three times aloud. Allow yourself to feel the words as they are read.


REFLECT // MEDITATIO

Now direct your focus on the words, phrases concepts or sentences that got your attention. What is God speaking to you today through His word?

2 Corinthians 2:12-13 (NKJV) 12 Furthermore, when I came to Troas to [preach] Christ’s gospel, and a door was opened to me by the Lord, 13 I had no rest in my spirit, because I did not find Titus my brother; but taking my leave of them, I departed for Macedonia.

This is quite a surprising passage. Paul was given a ministry green light. He had an opportunity arise for him to preach the gospel. Not only that, but the open door was from the Lord Himself. It was a God-door! But Paul turned away from it.


This definitely raises some interesting questions. Was Paul being disobedient in turning away from a door of ministry opened to him by the Lord? It doesn’t seem that way from the passage.


Are ministry opportunities from the Lord up for consideration and decision? Can I choose whether or not to accept a door opened by the Lord? Are there other considerations?


In this case, Paul turned away from a God-given opportunity because he had no rest in his spirit. More than an issue of obedience or disobedience, this seems more like an issue of self-evaluation. Or, as it might be put in today’s wording, healthy boundaries or self-care.


Paul is saying he knew he wouldn’t do any good in ministry to himself or others with no rest in his spirit. I’m sure there are very few things that would cause Paul to turn away from an open door of ministry. No rest in his spirit may be the only one.


How highly do I value rest in my spirit? Do I understand the importance of rest in my spirit to being effective in ministry? Am I facing any obstacles today to rest in my spirit? Deal with that — and then be effective for the Lord.


RESPOND // ORATIO

Pray in response to what the Lord has spoken to you.

Jesus, Thank You for the reminder to prioritize rest in my spirit. Give me wisdom and peace as I pursue You. Amen!

Tomorrow’s reading -> Psalm 38:1-22

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page