top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

Seeing an Old Friend

Daily Reading // Isaiah 26:1-26


READY // SILENCIO

Take a moment to quiet your mind and prepare your heart for your time with the Lord.


READ // LECTIO

Read the passage above up to three times aloud. Allow yourself to feel the words as they are read.


REFLECT // MEDITATIO

Now direct your focus on the words, phrases concepts or sentences that got your attention. What is God speaking to you today through His word?

Isaiah 26:3 You will keep him in perfect peace, Whose mind is stayed on You, Because he trusts in You.

Reading this verse this morning was like running into an old friend that I haven’t seen in years. As a new Christian, this was one of the verses I memorized to begin my journey with God. This old friend taught me about the nature of God. He is a God of peace. It also taught me the key to experiencing the peace of God - to keep my mind on Him and to trust in Him. Anytime I started to feel anxious this friend would show up to remind me about God and His peace.

Scripture can become a friend if we commit it to memory. How about memorizing Isaiah 26:3 this week? You will be amazed at the peace that comes from pondering its truth. Then strike up a friendship with Philippians 4:6-7, or John 14:27, or Galatians 2:20. It is a friendship that will last a lifetime.


RESPOND // ORATIO

Pray in response to what the Lord has spoken to you.


Jesus, You are the Prince of Peace. Give it in full measure today. Use me, Lord, as an instrument of peace. My trust is not in governments or in scientists or in economies or in vaccines. You will keep me in perfect peace because I trust in You. Amen.


Tomorrow’s reading -> Isaiah 27:1-13

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page