top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

Shout In Triumph

Daily Reading // Psalm 60-62


(Find the daily reading on Pastor Jim’s Blog)

https://jholm5.wixsite.com/pastor-jim-blog


S // SCRIPTURE

Select a verse from today’s reading

Psalms 60:8 (NKJV) “Moab is My washpot; Over Edom I will cast My shoe; Philistia, shout in triumph because of Me.”

O // OBSERVATION

Why did this verse get your attention? Make a simple observation from the text


In the day David wrote this he was facing challenges as King of Israel. The Moabites were a real problem. The nation of Edom was a challenge in his day and King Herod, the Edomite, would prove to be a problem again many years later when Jesus, the Son of David, was born.

Philistia and the Philistines were a real issue throughout David’s lifetime, beginning with Goliath.

As difficult as these problems were for David he reminds us here they are nothing for God.


A // APPLICATION

How can I apply this to my life today?


Moab is not a problem we talk about in 2021. Edom and Philistia don’t make the evening news. These problems that were so imposing and so weighty in David’s day are gone now.


We have new problems today but they will also disappear. Problems may feel bigger than they are. Problems feel like they will never go away but they do.


Moab, Edom and Philistia caused David to call out to God. Political conflicts, racial strife and COVID cause me to call out to God and depend on Him.


I will shout in triumph over every challenge because of Him!


P // PRAYER

Express yourself in prayer


Jehovah, You indeed are greater than any challenge I will ever face. Use each one to accomplish Your perfect plan. I fully trust in You. Amen.

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page