top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

Spiritual Survival

Daily Reading // Psalm 27-29


(Find the daily reading on Pastor Jim’s Blog)

https://jholm5.wixsite.com/pastor-jim-blog


S // SCRIPTURE

Select a verse from today’s reading

Psalms 29:11 (NKJV) The LORD will give strength to His people; The LORD will bless His people with peace.

O // OBSERVATION

Why did this verse get your attention? Make a simple observation from the text


David had been in many survival situations and in spiritual survival situations.


He knew in survival situations you need to find food and water. You can’t survive long without food and even less time without water. You can do without a lot of things, but not food and water.


For spiritual survival two things are needed: strength and peace. As long as I have spiritual strength and peace I have all I need. The Source of strength and peace is God.


A // APPLICATION

How can I apply this to my life today?


Many years ago I made a statement to a friend of mine. I said, “I think about the grace of God to give me salvation. It’s more than I deserve. Now that I have salvation and relationship with God everything else is gravy.”


There’s been a lot of gravy. He just keeps giving me gravy.


The fact is: God owes me nothing. Many fall into the trap of expressing dissatisfaction with their life circumstances. Really!? What did you do to earn life in the first place? What exactly does God owe you? Make an exhaustive list with a pen and paper and you won’t use a drop of ink.

I only need two things for spiritual survival - strength and peace. He will be my source of strength and peace until the day I go to be with Him. Happy day!


P // PRAYER

Express yourself in prayer

Father, You are So good to me. You give me all I need, and then some. Thanks for the gravy. Amen.

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page