top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

Squandering Peace

Daily Reading // Isaiah 7:1-25


READY // SILENCIO

Take a moment to quiet your mind and prepare your heart for your time with the Lord.


READ // LECTIO

Read the passage above up to three times aloud. Allow yourself to feel the words as they are read.


REFLECT // MEDITATIO

Now direct your focus on the words, phrases concepts or sentences that got your attention. What is God speaking to you today through His word?

Isaiah 7:4 "and say to him: ‘Take heed, and be quiet; do not fear or be fainthearted for these two stubs of smoking firebrands, for the fierce anger of Rezin and Syria, and the son of Remaliah.
Isaiah 7:7 ‘thus says the Lord GOD: "It shall not stand, Nor shall it come to pass.

King Ahaz and the people were shaking for fear because of the reports they heard about enemy armies (v.2). They live in fear the armies are going to wipe them out. God tells them through Isaiah not to fear because it’s not going to happen.

How often do I squander my peace over fear of things that are not going to happen? In fact, even if something is going to happen, what good does it do to fear? Nothing, if I trust in the Lord. All it does is squander my peace.


RESPOND // ORATIO

Pray in response to what the Lord has spoken to you.

What am I afraid of today? What good does that fear do for me? Am I squandering my peace?

Lord, I will fear no evil, for thou art with me.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page