top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

Surrender

Daily Reading // Isaiah 20:1-6


READY // SILENCIO

Take a moment to quiet your mind and prepare your heart for your time with the Lord.


READ // LECTIO

Read the passage above up to three times aloud. Allow yourself to feel the words as they are read.


REFLECT // MEDITATIO

Now direct your focus on the words, phrases concepts or sentences that got your attention. What is God speaking to you today through His word?

Isaiah 20:5 “Then they shall be afraid and ashamed of Ethiopia their expectation and Egypt their glory.”

The people were counting on Egypt and Ethiopia to help them against Assyria. Egypt was their ‘glory’ and Ethiopia represented their own expectations. God said, they can’t help you. They need help themselves. They will wind up defeated as well. Why do you trust in things that are not trustworthy?


The people of Jerusalem would rather trust in Egypt and Ethiopia. Why? They didn’t want to give up their ‘glory’ and their own ‘expectations‘. They would rather trust in something untrustworthy to try to attain their own desired outcome than to fully surrender to God and His desired outcome. When you don’t fully surrender to God, you ultimately surrender to defeat.


What is more important to me: My glory? My own expectations? Or God’s ultimate will in my life?


RESPOND // ORATIO

Pray in response to what the Lord has spoken to you.


Father, I see myself in there warnings. I get an expectation or desired outcome in my head, and it becomes more important than following after You and trusting in You. I can even use less reliable means to achieve my own outcome than fully surrender to Yours. I am reminded today: Your outcome will ultimately prevail. Surrender to You is the ultimate victory.


Today I chose to ‘Trust in You with all my heart and lean not on my own understanding. In all my ways I will acknowledge You and You will direct my paths’.


Tomorrow’s reading -> Psalm 15:1-5

35 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page