top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

The Deep Things of God

Daily Reading // 1 Corinthians 2:1-16


READY // SILENCIO

Take a moment to quiet your mind and prepare your heart for your time with the Lord.


READ // LECTIO

Read the passage above up to three times aloud. Allow yourself to feel the words as they are read.


REFLECT // MEDITATIO

Now direct your focus on the words, phrases concepts or sentences that got your attention. What is God speaking to you today through His word?

1 Corinthians 2:9 (NKJV) But as it is written: "Eye has not seen, nor ear heard, Nor have entered into the heart of man The things which God has prepared for those who love Him."

This verse is often used to talk about heaven. And I think it is appropriate for that use. But this context shows us there’s more to it than that.


The context here is knowing what God is doing in our world today. There were things going on in their world at that time, including the coming of the Messiah, which could only be known through spiritual discernment. The wisest among them couldn’t have figured them out. The Spirit of God has to reveal these things.


There are things going on in our world today that can be known only by spiritual discernment. The natural eye can’t see what God is doing. The natural ear can’t perceive His movements. The heart of man is incapable of grasping His intentions.


The next verse is mind blowing:

1 Corinthians 2:10 (NKJV) But God has revealed [them] to us through His Spirit. For the Spirit searches all things, yes, the deep things of God.

The only way to know God’s movements and direction is by tapping into the Spirit of God. There is nothing too deep for the Spirit to reveal to me. Seeking the wisdom and the guidance of the Spirit is my only hope in navigating an otherwise confusing world.


My eyes, my ears and my heart will tell me all sorts of things, even very discouraging things. Learning to trust in Your Spirit is learning how to NOT trust in these.


RESPOND // ORATIO

Pray in response to what the Lord has spoken to you.


Father, fill me with Your Holy Spirit today. Help me to trust in Your revelation more than my eyes, my ears, even my heart. Reveal to me the deep things of God. Amen.


Tomorrow’s reading -> 1 Corinthians 2:1-5

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page