top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

The Mere Edges of His Ways

Daily Reading // Job 25-26


(Find the daily reading on Pastor Jim’s Blog)

https://jholm5.wixsite.com/pastor-jim-blog


S // SCRIPTURE

Select a verse from today’s reading

Job 26:14 (NKJV) Indeed these are the mere edges of His ways, And how small a whisper we hear of Him! But the thunder of His power who can understand?”

O // OBSERVATION

Why did this verse get your attention? Make a simple observation from the text


We see ‘the mere edges of His ways’.


When my wife and I traveled to the Grand Canyon, we parked at one of the many visitor centers. We walked from our car to a nice vantage point on the rim. We saw, for the first time, the Grand Canyon.


We had seen it on pictures and in video but it wasn’t the same as seeing it in person. We were in awe. It stretched out before us into the far horizon. It also extended to the right and to the left. It was awe inspiring.


We got back in the car and drove farther down the road. We got out and repeated the process. This was a brand new view that we had not seen before.


Then we found a trail and descended into the canyon. We didn’t go too far. We climbed back out and back to our car. We saw as much of that incredible canyon as we could that day. Each vista brought a new dimension of the canyon.

We only saw a tiny, tiny part of the canyon that day. There is no way to find a single viewpoint that could show you the whole canyon from one place. You can only take it in bit by bit.


God is so much bigger than the Grand Canyon. What we see of Him are the mere edges of His ways and what we hear is a small whisper. Each view is breathtaking but no view is complete.


A // APPLICATION

How can I apply this to my life today?


I desperately want to keep adding to my picture of God. It is a lifetime venture. I’ll find every vista and viewpoint I can. I will explore the vast trail system laid out by those who have gone before.


Then I will realize what I have experienced is the mere edges of His ways. I can’t fully exhaust the heights and depths of God and His character. I don’t need to. I only need a whisper.

This word from Job is one of my whispers for today.

P // PRAYER

Express yourself in prayer


Almighty God, You whisper so that I can understand. You present Yourself in a way that I can handle. You became a man so that I can have relationship with You. Help me see You today. Amen.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page