top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

The Iron Furnace

Daily Reading // Deuteronomy 4-6


(Find the daily reading on Pastor Jim’s Blog)

https://jholm5.wixsite.com/pastor-jim-blog


S // SCRIPTURE

Select a verse from today’s reading

Deuteronomy 4:20 (NKJV) “But the LORD has taken you and brought you out of the iron furnace, out of Egypt, to be His people, an inheritance, as you are this day.”

O // OBSERVATION

Why did this verse get your attention? Make a simple observation from the text


That phrase “iron furnace” really stuck out to me today.


Here it is referring to their time as slaves in Egypt. That was the iron furnace.


An iron furnace is different from an incinerator. The purpose of a furnace is to purify and shape. An incinerator is for total destruction. But they both use a high heat.


A // APPLICATION

How can I apply this to my life today?


Being in an iron furnace is not necessarily fun. If a furnace is the only way to really be purified and shaped by God, am I willing to endure it?


Shadrach, Meschach and Abed-Nego were thrown into a furnace and Jesus was right there with them.


The heat I may experience in this life is not for destruction but for molding me.


I was at the district conference and one of the speakers said, “We are in a battle ground, not a playground”. Playgrounds are more fun but battlegrounds are where wars are won.


P // PRAYER

Express yourself in prayer


Master Craftsman, I trust Your craftsmanship in me. Amen.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page