top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

The Love Of A Father

Daily Reading // 2 Samuel 15-19


(Find the daily reading on Pastor Jim’s Blog)

https://jholm5.wixsite.com/pastor-jim-blog

S // SCRIPTURE

Select a verse from today’s reading

2 Samuel 19:4 (NKJV) But the king covered his face, and the king cried out with a loud voice, “O my son Absalom! O Absalom, my son, my son!”

O // OBSERVATION

Why did this verse get your attention? Make a simple observation from the text


There was a rebellion against King David started by Absalom, his son. Absalom spoke evil of his father, used tricks and deception, and turned David’s own people against him. He tried his very best to overthrow the king and rule in his place.


But David didn’t hate Absalom. He loved him. He would’ve done anything he could to save Absalom. He was heartbroken when he heard of Absalom’s destruction. His tears and his mourning were very real.


A // APPLICATION

How can I apply this to my life today?


I think this account is told in scripture because it gives us a very personal and descriptive account of how God feels about His children involved in rebellion. Those who rise up against Him in rebellion. He doesn’t hate them. He loves them and grieves over them.


Peter, who had been with the Lord a great deal, understood this. He saw it first hand. He said, “The Lord is … not willing that any should perish, but that all should come to repentance.” (2 Peter 3:9)

God feels about every person who turns from Him the same way David felt about Absalom. He wants me to have that kind of compassion also.


P // PRAYER

Express yourself in prayer


Father, Thank You for loving me when I was in rebellion against You. Amen.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page