top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

The Past Is Past

Daily Reading // Amos 5-9


(Find the daily reading on Pastor Jim’s Blog)

https://jholm5.wixsite.com/pastor-jim-blog


S // SCRIPTURE

Select a verse from today’s reading

Amos 5:2 (NKJV) The virgin of Israel has fallen; She will rise no more. She lies forsaken on her land; There is no one to raise her up.

O // OBSERVATION

Why did this verse get your attention? Make a simple observation from the text


Amos ministered during a time of affluence and abundance in the northern kingdom of Israel. In that time people felt they could get away with anything. Their self-serving lifestyle led to their downfall.


They thought in their minds, “Whatever happens, we’ll recover from it.” Amos was telling them there are some events from which you never recover. A virgin doesn’t become a virgin again.


Israel was taken captive by Assyria and was never the same again.


A // APPLICATION

How can I apply this to my life today?


In our day there are those who are looking forward to things going back to normal. There is no reason to believe that will ever happen.


I can even make an idol of the past or ‘the way it has always been’. Returning to the past isn’t my hope. God is.


Actions have consequences and consequences leave a lasting impact. I need to take God seriously. His Word is true. If I do whatever I want and disregard His warnings the repercussions might be irreversible.


Take God seriously.


Stay current.


Adapt when necessary.


P // PRAYER

Express yourself in prayer


Jesus, Speak to me today about Your plan for me today. Amen.

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page