top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

The Paths of the Destroyer

Daily Reading // Psalm 17:1-15


READY // SILENCIO

Take a moment to quiet your mind and prepare your heart for your time with the Lord.


READ // LECTIO

Read the passage above up to three times aloud. Allow yourself to feel the words as they are read.


REFLECT // MEDITATIO

Now direct your focus on the words, phrases concepts or sentences that got your attention. What is God speaking to you today through His word?

Psalm 17:4 Concerning the works of men, By the word of Your lips, I have kept away from the paths of the destroyer.

I heard the gospel and gave my life to Jesus in the spring of 1978. Since then I have done my best to walk with Him. There have been victories and failures. There have been times of growth and setbacks along the way. Even going three steps forward and two steps back keeps you moving in a positive direction. Along the way I have tried to learn more and more about God through His Word. As I have learned I have also tried to apply His word to my life. It’s easy to think, when you are obeying God’s Word, that you are doing God a favor. The truth is, I have been doing ME a favor. Living according to His Word has given me purpose, direction and has saved me from all kinds of trouble and difficulty over the years. He has kept me from the paths of the destroyer.

I see people who have not lived for the Lord, even some I have known from my childhood, who have set their course on a different direction. Time and time again I see the work of the destroyer in their lives. I am grateful, not for their misfortune or because of my superiority. I am grateful that God’s Word has kept me from the paths of the destroyer time and time again.


RESPOND // ORATIO

Pray in response to what the Lord has spoken to you.


God, Your Word is true. It is a gift to me. I read it to know You better. I read it to know me better. Your Word has kept me from the path of the destroyer. I praise Your gracious Name! Amen.


Tomorrow’s reading -> Sabbath Reflection

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page