top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

The Right Enemies

Daily Reading // Psalm 54-56


(Find the daily reading on Pastor Jim’s Blog)

https://jholm5.wixsite.com/pastor-jim-blog


S // SCRIPTURE

Select a verse from today’s reading

Psalms 56:2 (NKJV) My enemies would hound me all day, For there are many who fight against me, O Most High.

O // OBSERVATION

Why did this verse get your attention? Make a simple observation from the text


In David’s position as king, he had many enemies. Enemies outside the kingdom and enemies inside the kingdom.

Of course we know about the Philistines, David’s most famous enemies. They were geopolitical rivals, wanting the same land and influence that Israel had. There was also the whole Goliath thing.


He had enemies among those who felt he wrongly took the kingdom from the house of Saul and the tribe of Benjamin.


He had enemies among those who didn’t like his decisions and actions as king. There are always those around. Those are the ones who were able to be won over and form the rebellion against him.


The most difficult of all were the enemies within his close circle of friendship, even his own family.

How a person lives with enemies says as much about his or her character as anything else.


A // APPLICATION

How can I apply this to my life today?


Compared to David, I have not had many enemies in my life. If I had my choice, I would have zero enemies. Enemies cause me to question my actions, my motives, my character, and where I place my trust.


You can see from this verse that David’s enemies caused him to call out to God.


Not that I intentionally want to create enemies, but I’m starting to see how even enemies can be used by God for my good.


P // PRAYER

Express yourself in prayer


Lord, Even You had enemies. Give me the right enemies, and a right attitude toward my enemies. Amen.

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page