top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

The Special Treatment Trap

Daily Reading // 1 Corinthians 1:10-17


READY // SILENCIO

Take a moment to quiet your mind and prepare your heart for your time with the Lord.


READ // LECTIO

Read the passage above up to three times aloud. Allow yourself to feel the words as they are read.


REFLECT // MEDITATIO

Now direct your focus on the words, phrases concepts or sentences that got your attention. What is God speaking to you today through His word?

1 Corinthians 1:12 (NKJV) Now I say this, that each of you says, "I am of Paul," or "I am of Apollos," or "I am of Cephas," or "I am of Christ."

Look at how Paul addressed this issue. Or, maybe better, look at how Paul didn’t address this issue. He didn’t say, “You who say ‘I am of Paul’, you’re really right, you know. You picked the best side.”


No. He tells those who were ‘of Paul’ they were just as wrong as everyone else. Even though they were on his side. They didn’t get special treatment in this letter.


It is so easy to give certain people preferential treatment and special privileges because we like them, or they agree with us, or we have things in common. Watch out! That is conditional love. Jesus clearly taught and modeled loving all, especially the ‘unlovely’.


Jesus said to love your enemies. Jesus said if you only love those who love you back, what’s the big deal? Doesn’t everyone do that? Jesus said if you can’t love your brother, you can’t love God.


Today, will I show preferential treatment? Will I direct my love and attention towards some and not towards others? If I do I have fallen into the Special Treatment Trap.

RESPOND // ORATIO

Pray in response to what the Lord has spoken to you.


Jesus, Your love is unconditional so my love must be unconditional. Remove from me any petty preferences that causes me to love some people less. Amen.


Tomorrow’s reading -> 1 Corinthians 1:18-25

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page