top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

The Wells of Salvation

Daily Reading // Isaiah 12-17


(Find the daily reading on Pastor Jim’s Blog)

https://jholm5.wixsite.com/pastor-jim-blog


S // SCRIPTURE

Select a verse from today’s reading

Isaiah 12:3 (NKJV) Therefore with joy you will draw water From the wells of salvation.

O // OBSERVATION

Why did this verse get your attention? Make a simple observation from the text


I love the way this scripture is worded. It is powerful, meaningful and very poetic. I love that it talks about ‘the wells of salvation’.


Wells were super important in that day. Wherever there is a nomadic group of people or herding people wells are everything. You can’t go too far from a well unless you know you are heading to another well. And when you came upon a well it was a great joy to see it.


The wells tie into this great subterranean source. The water is pure, refreshing, life-giving.


I like that wells here is plural. A single well is restrictive, confining. It’s almost a prison. But wells give you freedom. You can move about knowing the life-giving source will be available here or over there.


A // APPLICATION

How can I apply this to my life today?


Do I take joy in my salvation as a thirsty nomad who comes upon a well? That’s how it should be. My salvation is the source of my life. God is good to bubble up the life of my salvation through different wells. Some of those are people who fill me with the joy of my salvation.


Some of those wells are experiences. Some are passages from His Word. There are many ways that God delivers the life-giving virtue of His salvation to me wherever I go.


His wells are plentiful and available just when I need one.


P // PRAYER

Express yourself in prayer

Today, Lord, I draw deep from the wells of Your salvation. Fill me today with the joy of Your salvation. Amen.

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Inheritance

March 14, 2024

bottom of page