top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

Ticket to Tarshish

Daily Reading // Jonah 1-4


(Find the daily reading on Pastor Jim’s Blog)

https://jholm5.wixsite.com/pastor-jim-blog


S // SCRIPTURE

Select a verse from today’s reading

Jonah 1:3 (NKJV) But Jonah arose to flee to Tarshish from the presence of the LORD. He went down to Joppa, and found a ship going to Tarshish; so he paid the fare, and went down into it, to go with them to Tarshish from the presence of the LORD.

O // OBSERVATION

Why did this verse get your attention? Make a simple observation from the text


Jonah heard from the Lord. Whether he liked it or not, he heard from the Lord.


When we think about hearing from God, we think, “Wouldn’t that be great? I’m always going to love what He says!”


The reality is different. If I am always happy about what God says to me I’m probably not hearing from Him. What happens when God tells me something I don’t want to hear or tells me to do something I don’t want to do? Do I obey, or run away, or just ignore Him?


Jonah runs away to Tarshish. Why Tarshish? Because it was the farthest sea port anyone was sailing to in those days. He went as far away as he could.


A // APPLICATION

How can I apply this to my life today?


Has God ever said something to me - by His Word, His Spirit or another person - that I didn’t like or didn’t want to do? If not maybe I’m not really hearing His voice.


Correction isn’t easy or fun. Yet, God needs to bring correction to me. How do I respond?


I’ve had to do things that I wouldn’t choose for myself and have necessary conversations that I didn’t want to have.


Obedience isn’t tested when God says just what you want. It’s in those times when I don’t want to, or I don’t get it, or I don’t agree when I show my real submission.


Always doing what I want to do is easy. Discipleship isn’t always easy.


P // PRAYER

Express yourself in prayer


Father, When I like it and when I don’t, the answer is ‘yes’! Amen.

11 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page