top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

Understanding Is Highly Overrated

SCRIPTURE:

Jesus answered and said to him, “What I am doing you do not understand now, but you will know after this.”

‭‭John‬ ‭13:7‬ ‭NKJV‬‬


OBSERVATION:

Peter did not understand what Jesus was doing. Because he didn’t understand it he resisted it. Jesus encouraged him. Even though Peter didn’t understand he needed to allow Jesus to do it.

Obedience without understanding requires trust.


APPLICATION:

I love it when I fully understand what Jesus is doing. However, that is not often. I don’t have to understand. If I am not willing to be obedient in those times when I don’t get it then, like Peter, “I have no part with Him”. Understanding is not a prerequisite to obedience. Trust is.


PRAYER:

Jesus, I love You and trust You. I will be obedient to Uour Word and to Your Spirit whether or not I understand. Amen.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page