top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

Unite

Daily Reading // Zechariah 8-14


(Find the daily reading on Pastor Jim’s Blog)

https://jholm5.wixsite.com/pastor-jim-blog


S // SCRIPTURE

Select a verse from today’s reading

Zechariah 8:23 (NKJV) “Thus says the LORD of hosts: ‘In those days ten men from every language of the nations shall grasp the sleeve of a Jewish man, saying, “Let us go with you, for we have heard that God is with you.” ’ ”

O // OBSERVATION

Why did this verse get your attention? Make a simple observation from the text


Since the Tower of Babel, language had separated groups of people. Those who live together in separate language groups over time develop a unique culture. They ‘understand each other’, but they don’t understand those other people.


Those different cultures compete at times for limited resources. It’s easy to see the other people who you don’t understand as the enemy.


Nothing breaks down those differences between people like God does. When God is present those other things don’t matter.


Abraham was the father of the Jewish nation. God didn’t say, “I will bless you at the expense of all other nations”. He said, “Through you all the nations of the world will be blessed”.


A // APPLICATION

How can I apply this to my life today?


I have seen the Spirit of God bridge cultural gaps of all kinds. There is no difference or distinction between people that He can’t overcome.


The world continues to drive wedges between groups of people, encouraging division and animosity. Jesus rises above all those possible divisions and tells me to love my neighbor.


In Jesus the wall of separation is removed and all are one family. The day of Pentecost undid the Tower of Babel.


I can refuse the divisions the world continues to reinforce.


P // PRAYER

Express yourself in prayer


Jesus, Show me any divisive tendency in me and heal me. Help me to love my enemies. Amen.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page