top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

Upside-Down Clay

Daily Reading // Isaiah 29:1-24


READY // SILENCIO

Take a moment to quiet your mind and prepare your heart for your time with the Lord.


READ // LECTIO

Read the passage above up to three times aloud. Allow yourself to feel the words as they are read.


REFLECT // MEDITATIO

Now direct your focus on the words, phrases concepts or sentences that got your attention. What is God speaking to you today through His word?

Isaiah 29:16 (NIV) You turn things upside down, as if the potter were thought to be like the clay! Shall what is formed say to the one who formed it, “You did not make me”? Can the pot say to the potter, “You know nothing”?

We definitely have things turned upside-down.

The problem with being clay is we don’t even realize how absurd our upside-down thinking is. How can we? We’re clay.

Is it absurd for formed clay to think, “Nobody formed me. I just showed up this way as an act of random chance.”? We do that.


Is it absurd for formed clay to think, “The potter didn’t get my permission before he made me this way. He was totally wrong in his design and execution.”? We do that.

Is it absurd for formed clay to think, “I’m sure I know better than the potter how to form and sculpt and use clay. In fact, I think I know everything better than him.”? We do that.

Is it absurd for formed clay to think, “The potter is so out of touch. What does he know about pottery?”? We do that.


Once I turn things rightside-up, I can begin to appreciate and be just what the Potter made me to be. He is in charge. He is an Artist beyond compare. He knows much more than I do. I exist for Him, not Him for me. He knows what is best for me. He is worthy of my life, love and adoration.


And I am fearfully and wonderfully made.


RESPOND // ORATIO

Pray in response to what the Lord has spoken to you.


God, You are the Potter, I am the clay. I want it no other way. I belong to You. Form me and use me according to Your wonderful will. Amen.


Tomorrow’s reading -> Isaiah 30:1-17

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page