top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

What’s In A Name?

SCRIPTURE:

“And so it was, as her soul was departing (for she died), that she called his name Ben-Oni; but his father called him Benjamin.”

‭‭Genesis‬ ‭35:18‬ ‭NKJV‬‬

https://bible.com/bible/114/gen.35.18.NKJV


OBSERVATION:

As Rachel was dying in childbirth she named her son ‘son of my sorrow, or pain’. I get it. It was a terrible circumstance. But it wasn’t the child’s fault. (Rachel had once told Jacob, “Give me a son or I die!”)

But then Jacob changed his name to mean ‘son of my right hand’. What a great change.


OBSERVATION:

Circumstances may try to name me. Don’t let them. Only my Father in heaven can do that.

What name have I let stick that drags me down? Receive the name change from the Father today. Benjamin goes on to become the first royal line in Israel. Live like royalty.


PRAYER:

Father, I only receive Your name today. Amen.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page