top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

When Bad Is Good

Before I was afflicted I went astray, But now I keep Your word. It is good for me that I have been afflicted, That I may learn Your statutes.

Psalms‬ ‭119:67, 71‬ ‭NKJV‬‬


David says, “It is good for me that I have been afflicted”. When would anyone say that? When would I ever say that? Is it ever good to be afflicted? We avoid affliction (literally) like the plague. So much time and effort goes into escaping affliction and enjoying comfort. For what possible reason would someone say it’s good to be afflicted?


Here’s the reason: When affliction turns me around from going astray and when I learn something about God’s Word. That is more valuable than living a comfortable, affliction-free life.


Every place of pain, discomfort and suffering is a golden opportunity to draw close to God and learn from Him.


Bring it!


Father, I will not complain in affliction or turn away from You. I will turn to You. Amen.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page