top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

Where is My Dependence?

Daily Reading // Isaiah 10:20-34


READY // SILENCIO

Take a moment to quiet your mind and prepare your heart for your time with the Lord.


READ // LECTIO

Read the passage above up to three times aloud. Allow yourself to feel the words as they are read.


REFLECT // MEDITATIO

Now direct your focus on the words, phrases concepts or sentences that got your attention. What is God speaking to you today through His word?

Isaiah 10:20 And it shall come to pass in that day That the remnant of Israel, And such as have escaped of the house of Jacob, Will never again depend on him who defeated them, But will depend on the LORD, the Holy One of Israel, in truth.

Where is my dependence? Upon whom or what do I depend? A victor, conqueror or dictator loves nothing better than to keep others dependent. As long as others are dependent, they are vanquished. Dependence is a form of submission. Where is my dependence? Am I dependent on my government? Am I dependent upon my employment? Social programs? A certain lifestyle? Or even dependent upon myself? There is one healthy place for dependence - dependence upon the Lord alone. If I look to him for my provision, my future, my hope, then all other things can fall into place. He can use those other things in my life, but my dependence isn’t on them, it’s on Him.


RESPOND // ORATIO

Pray in response to what the Lord has spoken to you.


I need You, Lord, and no other.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page