top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

Who Is My Son?

Daily Reading // Genesis 3-4, Psalm 2, Matthew 2


(Find the daily reading on YouVersion)


SCRIPTURE:

“and was there until the death of Herod, that it might be fulfilled which was spoken by the Lord through the prophet, saying, “Out of Egypt I called My Son.””

‭‭Matthew‬ ‭2:15‬ ‭NKJV‬‬

https://bible.com/bible/114/mat.2.15.NKJV


OBSERVATION:

In his gospel, Matthew quotes the prophet Hosea. It would be very easy to interpret this prophecy as referring to the Israelites in bondage in Egypt. Israel was God’s Son called out of Egypt by God’s deliverer, Moses. That would be an adequate explanation and you’re done.

However, if you did that you would miss out on the greater and deeper meaning. Jesus, God’s Son, escaped from Herod to Egypt. As a result, He was called out of Egypt. Matthew got it right.


APPLICATION:

Do I miss deeper truths in scripture because I take the first, easiest interpretation? Careful! I might miss something because I think I already have it nailed.


PRAYER:

Jesus, teach me to read Your Word with my eyes and my heart wide open. Amen.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page