top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

Wisdom and Prudence that Fails

Daily Reading // Isaiah 5:18-30

READY // SILENCIO

Take a moment to quiet your mind and prepare your heart for your time with the Lord.

READ // LECTIO

Read the passage above up to three times aloud. Allow yourself to feel the words as they are read.

REFLECT // MEDITATIO

Now direct your focus on the words, phrases concepts or sentences that got your attention. What is God speaking to you today through His word?

Isaiah 5:21 Woe to those who are wise in their own eyes, And prudent in their own sight!

Being wise and being prudent are admirable traits. According to this verse, I can be wise and be prudent qnd still have a pronouncement of 'woe' upon my life. How could that be? If I am wise only in my own eyes. If I am prudent only in my own sight. That kind of wisdom and prudence does me no good. Other people's opinion of me don't matter, either. They can also be faulty. Real wisdom and real prudence is defined by God, in His Word and by His Spirit.

RESPOND // ORATIO

Pray in response to what the Lord has spoken to you.

Father, Protect me from a faulty self-evaluation. I don't want to be wise or prudent in my own sight, but in Yours. Where am I fooling myself right now?

 

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page