top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePastor Jim

You and Me Against the World

Daily Reading // Psalm 3-5


(Find the daily reading on Pastor Jim’s Blog)

https://jholm5.wixsite.com/pastor-jim-blog


S // SCRIPTURE

Select a verse from today’s reading

Psalms 3:6 (NKJV) I will not be afraid of ten thousands of people Who have set themselves against me all around.

O // OBSERVATION

Why did this verse get your attention? Make a simple observation from the text


As I read these words this morning I thought about the strength of a group. ‘Ten thousands of people who have set themselves against me’. That’s a lot of people.


The power of a group can be used for good or used for evil. If those ten thousands of people were part of your army instead of being set against you it’s quite a different thing.


Maybe a greater tendency, instead of being afraid of them, is to be tempted to join them. There’s an old saying, “If you can’t beat ‘em, join ‘em.”


Just to avoid their wrath, a person might be tempted to change their position and go along with the group.


Instead the psalm says here: The Lord is my shield; I pray and He hears me; I have no trouble sleeping at night; and I will not be afraid no matter what the mob says.


A // APPLICATION

How can I apply this to my life today?


One of the hardest things to face is a large group of people with a deadly agenda. Standing firm in my convictions is tested when opposed by the majority.


David stood strong. So can I.


P // PRAYER

Express yourself in prayer


Father, You are my shield. I will stand with You at my side. Amen.

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Inheritance

March 14, 2024

bottom of page